Preparing the veggie beds for spring

Ok I am running a bit behind schedule. I should have got into my veggie beds a few weeks ago to prepare for spring and summer, luckily still have bit of time.

I haven’t blogged for awhile as I have been doing this online sewing course which I am thoroughly enjoying but now behind in that due to my gardening this weekend!! (was going to catch up on my sewing!).

Day 1 – Saturday

My dog and I went for a drive on route for our regular walk at the dam nearby and went and got some chook poo direct from a chook farm. Bags gone up now $5 a bag but still fresher and better value than buying it at a hardware/nursery. Last weekend I went and collected bags of cow manure straight from the paddock of a friends neighbour up the road. Preparation of your soil for your veggie beds is the key to growing great veggies. My grandfather swore by it and he of course is right. I prepare my soil now exactly like he use to so I thinker would be pleased I listened to him and mum too!!

I got some organic compost at the hardware store the other week as had a voucher so of course got gardening supplies!!

So here are the beds prior, which the nurstursims took over. Tools you will need and supplies.

20120826-110110.jpg

20120826-110128.jpg

20120826-110142.jpg

20120826-110204.jpg

20120826-110212.jpg

20120826-110228.jpg

Have put my manure (chook and cow) and compost down and working it into the beds. I am going to use two bags of organic compost as I am planting tomatoes again and they are very hungry eaters.

20120826-112219.jpg

Oh forgot to say I harvested my beds yesterday evening and have dug up number of plants to make it easier to get into the soil. Will transplant them later.

20120826-112455.jpg

Leave a Reply

