Quiche for lunch!

A friend dropped in today and I whipped up a yummy quiche and salad for lunch. Perfect for a winters lunch.

Counted 8 home grown ingredients in today’s lunch!! – really achieved my goal today of 3 home grown ingredients in our meals.

They included:

  • Quiche – eggs, parsley, chives and made the pastry but didn’t include that in the count.
  • Salad – baby cos lettuce , rocket, cucumber.
  • Drinks – mint and lemon in iced water.

Ok for the recipe – which the quiche filling itself is out if my head / what mum use to kind of do and I have improvised it / whatever’s in the fridge! Pastry is mum’s recipe!

Pastry – no roll

Ingredients

  • 90g butter
  • 2 1/2 tbs milk (I just use a bit to the consistency want)
  • 125g self-raising flour (I use more about 150-175g to get a good amount of pastry for the dish)
  • pinch salt

Put butter and milk in a saucepan and heat gently until butter melts. Remove from heat. Sift flour with a pinch of salt in a bowl and add melted butter. Mix with wooden spoon into a ball.

Put into lightly butted and floured pie/quiche dish. Kneed out with hands to form a base and build up around the insides of rim of dish. Fill with your choice of filling (see mine below). Bake in 180-200 degree oven till cooked. Our oven is terrible so I put in on 200 degrees and bake my quiche for 45 mins. I was given a good ceramic quiche dish – invest in a good one, I use mine all the time.

Filling

  • bacon – I use about 3-4 short cut rations
  • onion – diced, or I use shallots if have them
  • mushrooms – sliced

Cook the above off in a frypan with season until just done. Place in pie dish on top of pastry base. Spread a bit of cheese over bacon mix – I use whatever I have tasty chedder and bit of parmarsen and sometimes I add some brie etc….depends on your wish fat content!

In a seperate bowl crack and wisk 5 eggs (or use less if they are big eggs). I season with salt and pepper.  Add some cream or milk or both. You want a bit more liquid than the eggs to ensure you have a good amount (but not too runny) to fill your pie dish up. Add fresh herbs, I use parsley and chives. Pour this liquid mixture over the other ingredients in the dish. Bake approximately 45 mins in 180-200 degree oven. May need 40-50 mins just check – you know when it is cooked when it is a bit browned on top.

Serve with quarter of tomato or fresh salad.  Great for winter lunch, picnic (served warm or cold) or a Sunday night dinner (we have eggs for a lighter Sunday night dinner!).

Leave a Reply

